Overtime Laws In San Diego
All employees in California are covered by the many labor laws which dictate who gets overtime pay, when, and how much. As a California worker you have many favorable regulations, which truly make this one of the best states to work in. In an effort to help arm you with knowledge, I have briefly outlined the basic regulations which make up overtime law in California. If you feel your employer may be violating one or more of these laws, you should call our office at UELG right away for your free case review.
Minimum Wage in CA: California minimum wage became $9 an hour in January 2014. Beginning July 2016 it will be raised again, to $10 per hour.
Time and a Half in CA: The payment of overtime hours is made at one and a half times your regular wage. You are entitled to overtime pay when you work more than eight hours in one day, and/or 40 hours in one week. This is even more favorable than the federal law, which states that you get overtime only after 40 hours in a week.
Double Time in CA: Double time refers to two times your regular wage, which you are entitled to after 12 hours in one day.
*Both time and a half and double time have more intricate calculations for employees who receive commission, or other compensation. We can help you figure out just how much you may be owed.
Seventh Day Rule in CA: Employees have an additional law entitling them to an automatic overtime rate of time and a half for the entire seventh day, up to eight hours, and double time from eight to twelve hours worked on a seventh day in one week.
OTC (Off The Clock) in CA: This is NEVER legal in California. No one can be required to perform work activities while clocked out, or not getting paid. This could include, but is not limited to, getting in and out of uniform, making a bank deposit, doing clean up or closing jobs, attending meetings for work, security checks before leaving the building, or waiting to clock out.
Stand-by Pay for On-Call Time: Simply put, in California, if you are not fully off the clock then you on the clock. If your company has control over you, in any way such as requiring that you stay in a given area, you can not consume alcohol, you must remain in uniform, etc., this means you may be entitled to pay for all hours you were “on call.”
I have provided a very simple explanation of the laws that form the basis of overtime law in California, but they do get very specific and complicated. If you think you may have a case of wage and hour pay violation, we would like to speak with you. Call United Employees Law group TODAY. We can walk you through the pay guidelines that affect you, and tell you if you are likely owed money.